Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Undergraduate Catalog 2016-2017 (old site)

CatalogCollege of Arts and SciencesGOVT

Department of Government and History

The mission of the Department of Government and History is to provide effective instruction and educational programs in geography, history, intelligence studies, and political science. The department offers bachelor's degrees and minors in fire and emergency services administration, geography, history, intelligence studies, political science, and professional studies. The department also offers minors in philosophy, public administration, and sustainability as well as a minor and certificate program in Geospatial Intelligence (GEOINT). The department supports the activities of its student honor societies and clubs, which include the History Honor Society Phi Alpha Theta, the Political Science Honor Society Pi Sigma Alpha, the International Social Science Honor Society Pi Gamma Mu, the History Club, the Organization of Security Students, the Political Science Club, the Pre-Law Club, and the Model UN. The Department of Government and History is committed to the mission of Fayetteville State University in accommodating the higher educational needs of its students and providing life-long experiences and cultural opportunities for members of its immediate and extended communities.

The Bachelor of Science in Professional Studies is an interdisciplinary degree program that enables students to develop twenty-first century skills, such as critical thinking, communication, knowledge of global cultures, and related skills and knowledge that will prepare them for leadership roles and professional success in the global economy. At the same time, the program provides students the opportunity to develop an individualized program of specialized knowledge and skills consistent with their personal interests, professional goals, and previous experience.

Learning Outcomes
Admission Requirements
Other Requirements
Course Descriptions
Offered Programs
A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina