Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Undergraduate Catalog 2014-2015

CatalogUndergraduateAcademic RegulationsClassification of Students

Classification of Students

Undergraduate students at Fayetteville State University are classified according to the number of semester hours they have earned, including hours transferred from other institutions, in keeping with the following table:

Credit Hours Classification
Fewer than 30 hours Freshman
30 – 59 hours Sophomore
60 – 89 hours Junior
90 or more hours Senior

Students are also classified according to the following categories:

  1. Regular Student - A regular student is one who has met all admission requirements and who is pursuing a degree program.
  2. Full-Time Student - A full-time student is one who registers for a minimum of twelve credit hours during a regular semester or six credit hours during a summer session. Students enrolled at the Fort Bragg Center or in Weekend and Evening College classes are considered full time if they enroll in at least six hours per term for a minimum of twelve hours for the semester.
  3. Part-Time Student - A part-time student is one who registers for fewer than twelve credit hours during a regular semester or fewer than six credit hours during a summer session.  A part-time student in weekend and evening classes is enrolled in fewer than six credit hours during a term.
  4. Special/Visiting Student - A special visiting student is one who is not pursing a degree program. Most special visiting students are enrolled in a professional licensure program, have permission from a home university or college to enroll in FSU courses, or are high school students earning university credit, or non-degree seeking students enrolling for life enrichment.
  5. Dual Enrolled Student - A student enrolled simultaneously at FSU and another college or university based on an approved dual enrollment agreement.  

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us