Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Undergraduate Catalog 2016-2017 (old site)

CatalogCollege of Arts and SciencesSWRK

Department of Social Work

The Master of Social Work Program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. The Master of Social Work (MSW) degree is designed to prepare students for professional social work practice and leadership with a focus on issues concerning children, families, mental health, and substance abuse. The program is designed to prepare students with the competencies to practice with individuals, families, groups, communities, and organizations in rural, urban, and military settings. Students are prepared to engage in prevention, treatment, intervention, clinical practice, research, and administrative activities that promote human well-being.

The program goals are:

  1. To prepare students for advanced social work practice, research, and leadership by concentrating in children and family services or in mental health and substance abuse services.
  2. To equip social work students with the knowledge, skills, and values to respond to the needs of oppressed and at risk populations in a multicultural society.
  3. To cultivate students' pursuit of lifelong learning by emphasizing participation in professional development, involvement in professional and community organizations, and participation in further graduate study.

The MSW program is a two-year program offered to full time students. The curriculum prepares students for advanced social work practice in one of the two areas of concentration: Children and Family Services or Mental Health and Substance Abuse.

Graduate Certificate Programs

The department also offers a Graduate Certificate in Military Behavioral Health and a Graduate Certificate in Substance Abuse Studies. The Military Behavioral Health curriculum requires 18 credit hours and the Substance Abuse Studies curriculum requires 12 credit hours.

Learning Outcomes
    Other Requirements
    Course Descriptions
    Offered Programs
      A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina